Posted on

The Best Part of Summer in Student Ministry

Summer is nearing its end and I’ve been thinking about the best parts of summer in student ministry.  There are three things that I love about summer with students ::

  1. Students are out of school and have a lot more discretionary time on their hands which means that they are often looking for something to do.
  2. Because of #1, there are more informal opportunities to build relationships with our students – to hang out, grab some grub, laugh together.
  3. Mission Trips.  We do a mission trip with our high school students every summer.  For me, they are the highlight of our year.  So much happens in the life of students on these trips, not to mention the relationships that are deepened between team members and between students and leaders. Preparation and planning is a job in and of itself, but it is always worth every extra hour spent.

What are your favorite parts of summer in student ministry?

About Rich Landosky

I'm married and my wife and I have two incredible children. I am the Associate Pastor of Ministry Development @ New Life Church of Toms River, NJ. Prior to taking this position in November 2016, I spent the last 32 years in local church student ministry. Big NY Yankees and Pittsburgh Steelers fan. Besides my family and spending time with them, I love music, riding my '92 Harley-Davidson Sportster, cycling, and messing with techy stuff.

Leave a Reply

