Posted on

My First Month As An Intern

by Seth Cross

Doing Youth Ministry this past month has been like riding a roller-coaster! Some days I feel lost and unproductive. Other days I feel overwhelmed with work. Sometimes this leads me to be stressed out and depressed, other days I feel productive and excited about what I’ve done and what is coming next!

I’ve found that one of the hardest things to be disciplined in is solitude. Even when I’m not in the office I’m constantly thinking about event planning and the different checklists I have to complete. It’s hard to be present. When I’m constantly preparing and organizing for the future, it’s hard to come back down to the present.

On the other hand, being constantly aware of my role as a leader, I am better developing spiritual disciplines (other than solitude). I have been praying and reading Scripture more consistently. I have been better able to focus in Sunday worship services and grapple with sermons.

In my month as an Intern I have been all over the place emotionally and spiritually, but I am learning to balance my life better because of it. I’m so thankful to God for using me and training. I’m excited for what He will do with the rest of the summer!

About Rich Landosky

I'm married and my wife and I have two incredible children. I am the Associate Pastor of Ministry Development @ New Life Church of Toms River, NJ. Prior to taking this position in November 2016, I spent the last 32 years in local church student ministry. Big NY Yankees and Pittsburgh Steelers fan. Besides my family and spending time with them, I love music, riding my '92 Harley-Davidson Sportster, cycling, and messing with techy stuff.

Leave a Reply

